How to use and Customize the Group Message Board

The group message board system in Elvanto can be used to let your group members communicate amongst themselves, and share important information, or you can make use of it as a way for Group leaders to announce information to group members. The message boards are configured at the group category level after enabling them in the member area.

After enabling the group category to appear in the Member area you’ll be presented with two options that related to the group message board.

In this Article

Who Can Send Messages

We allow you to control who can send messages. You can toggle between all members being able to communicate together, or only allowing leaders and assistant leaders to post messages.

Allowing all members to communicate can be useful if you’re wanting the group to socialize, where as setting it so only group leaders to post is useful if you want to use it as a notice board or similar.

Message Style

As part of the customization, we have two display styles you can chose from. This lets you pick the style that best suits your church and the groups in this category.

Messages shown in the message board style:

(Yes, we support Emoji!)

Messages shown in the chat style:

This does not affect who can post, or anything else, simply how they look.

Notifications of Messages

Unlike the other settings which are set by an admin at the category, this setting is controlled by the individual members.

Each member can click on the “Notifications” option at the top of the message board to control how often they are notified of messages.

From here, simply select the desired option.

This setting can not be changed by admins, and is only able to be set by the individuals.

The notification options work as follows:

  • Don’t notify me – No notifications are sent
  • Notify me when there’s new messages only – A notificationĀ is sent for the first message that is posted after the userĀ last checked messages only
  • Notify me with a digest once per day – A notification is sent each day if there’s messages the user has not read

Last Updated: 29th March, 2017

In This Section: