There are three kinds of people status’ in your account: Active, Contacts and Archived. Contacts and Archived people are stored on the system free of charge.
The basic difference between the three are:
Classed as members.
At the most basic level, an active person is someone who attends your church. They might also give financially or serve in some way.
Classed as those not yet connected, or those not a part of your church.
Contacts were established out of the need for churches to be able to manage and perform functions on people who weren’t members of the church. Contacts are stored in the system at no charge, and consist of people who are in your community or who you want to keep on file for outreach purposes.
Unlike Active people where custom fields can be added, Contacts is limited in this way. All information is able to be viewed and accessed from a contact’s file, but only the following are editable:
If a person’s status is changed from Active to Contact, any custom field data will be kept but marked as ‘view only’ for the duration of them being a contact.
Transitioning between Contact and Active
It’s likely that you’ll transition people from Contacts to Active (and potentially back again!) at different stages in their journey. If you’re wanting to record any information about your new Contact via custom fields, they’ll have to be initially marked as an Active Adult, then moved to Contacts (because you’re limited in the ways that you can record information about Contacts).
Contacts are only visible in the Admin area, to those with access to viewing them under their People access.
People marked as a Contact can not login, be rostered on or have financial donations within the last 30 days, nor do they appear in the member directory. In order for these things to occur they need to be marked as Active.
There are also restrictions placed on Contacts appearing in shared reports depending on the users access.
Classed as those who may have attended your church at one stage but have moved on for whatever reason.
A person who is marked as Archived is not deleted, but hidden in your database due to inactivity. You might want to archive a person to hide them from reports, or from the list of active people. Archived people do not count towards your plan limit and can be reactivated at anytime.
There are two main reasons why a person may need to be archived:
The only downside to archiving a person is that their information is not accessible. The only way to access the information of archived people is to reactivate their account again.
An example of this could be if a person visits your church and is inputted into the database. If they then don’t come back, you can archive their profile. If they return 6 months later, you can reactivate their account and access all their details again.
Contacts vs Archived
If a person has left the church but has indicated they want to keep informed, move them to Contacts. If the person is no longer connected at all, we recommend archiving them.