When a volunteer goes to edit their personal account details within My Account, you have the option to allow whether they can choose what departments and positions they serve in.

If you are using this option and have certain departments or positions that you do not want volunteers to assign themselves to, tick the ‘disable self-assign’ box below the department.

You can also set it in such a way that the volunteers simply can’t assign any departments to themselves in their My Profile layouts.

What should be set to ‘Self-Assign’?

We recommend using ‘disable self-assign’ at a positions level when there are certain leadership positions you want to regulate. If you don’t want individuals adding themselves to departments at all, you’d want to disable this at an account level.