When a user has access to a group, it allows them to write notes and submit attendance reports. Similar to the previous feature where you can restrict users in viewing people within groups, this feature allows you to place restrictions on viewing the groups themselves. In Elvanto, you can restrict users to certain groups.
Selecting this option limits the user to only view the groups they lead. This will override lockdown locations, demographics and departments.
For example, if a user (group leader) was locked down to your ‘North Campus’ location but they led a group assigned to your ‘Central Campus’ location, this group would still be visible to the user (group leader).
Selecting this option limits the user to only viewing groups within group categories they administer. This will override lockdown locations, demographics and departments.
Similar to the ‘groups they lead’ lockdown, this option will lock down a user to only view the groups they are a part of. Unlike the ‘groups they lead’ option above, though, this does take into account other lockdowns applied to the user’s account.
An example of this could be if they were in a group that was locked down to the ‘Children’ demographic. If the user was assigned to the ‘Adults’ demographic, the user would not be able to view that group in the system because of their lockdown.
Assigning access for Group Leaders
Depending on the group leader and type, churches may want to consider what kind of access will be granted for viewing and working within groups. If you’re a church using groups for multiple types of pastoral care, it may be more useful to grant a broader access permission for these people (‘Can only view groups they are a part of’, or no specific restrictions at all for some leaders). If you’re a church where groups is solely being used for small groups, however, opting for ‘Can only view groups they lead’ might help ensure leaders are only accessing group areas they need for reporting purposes.